Feodor Akimenko


Doux Rève

Danse Rustique

Three Pieces for Violin and Piano

Feodor Akimenko’s Three Pieces for Violin and Piano---Valse, Doux Rève and Danse Rustique--- appeared in 1912. As the titles suggest, Akimenko was influenced by French developments and they meld French impressionism with traditional Russia themes. They were sold separately to increase the publishers profits when they first came out, but we are pleased to offer them as a group for the first time. They can be performed separately where a shorter work is required or together they approach the length of a sonata.


Feodor Akimenko (also Theodor and Yakimenko 1876-1945) was born in the village of Pisky near the city of Kharkov in the Ukraine. He was educated at the St. Petersburg Conservatory where he studied with Rimsky-Korsakov and Liadov. After graduating, he held teaching positions in Tbilisi, Nice, Kharkov, and Prague. He eventually emigrated to France and spent the last 20 years of his life in Paris and Nice. Stravinsky was among his many composition students. His music shows the influence of the French impressionists


Parts: $14.95





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New