Feodor Akimenko


Cantabile for Violin and Piano, Op.31 No.1

Feodor Akimenko’s Cantabile is the first of three pieces, his Op.31, which he simply called Three Pieces for Violin and Piano. It dates from 1909. As the title suggests, it is a vocal piece, darkly tinged and melancholy but quite lyrical. 


Feodor Akimenko (also Theodor and Yakimenko 1876-1945) was born in the village of Pisky near the city of Kharkov in the Ukraine. He was educated at the St. Petersburg Conservatory where he studied with Rimsky-Korsakov and Liadov. After graduating, he held teaching positions in Tbilisi, Nice, Kharkov, and Prague. He eventually emigrated to France and spent the last 20 years of his life in Paris and Nice. Stravinsky was among his many composition students. His music shows the influence of the French impressionists


Parts: $10.95





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New