Feodor Akimenko

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2d Movt

Soundbite 3d Movt

Violin Sonata No.1 in d minor, Op.32

Feodor Akimenkoís Violin Sonata No.1 in d minor dates from 1896 and was dedicated to the famous violinist Eugene YsayŽ. It won a gold medal at the 1900 Paris Exposition. The opening movement begins with a diffident and tonally ambivalent Andantino introduction which only resolves with the appearance of the main part of the movement, a perfumed Allegro which has the quality of a waltz. The middle movement, Andante con moto, is a theme and set of variations. The theme is a kind of passacaglia. A dance-like Allegro brings the sonata to a close.


Feodor Akimenko (also Theodor and Yakimenko 1876-1945) was born in the village of Pisky near the city of Kharkov in the Ukraine. He was educated at the St. Petersburg Conservatory where he studied with Rimsky-Korsakov and Liadov. After graduating, he held teaching positions in Tbilisi, Nice, Kharkov, and Prague. He eventually emigrated to France and spent the last 20 years of his life in Paris and Nice. Stravinsky was among his many composition students. His music shows the influence of the French impressionists


This fine sonata has been unavailable for nearly a century. It deserves a place in the recital hall and we are pleased to make it available one again.


Parts: $24.95





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New