Isaac Albeniz


Sevilla from Suite Española No.1 for String Quartet

Sevilla, like most of Albeniz's works were for the piano, although he did write some operas. Surprisingly, his most popular works, the Suite Española Nos. 1 and 2, and the Suites España and Iberia, all for the piano are have become better known in transcriptions for the classical guitar. Sevilla (Leyenda) from Suite Española No.1 is heard most often on the guitar. Similarly, Granada, Asturias, Cadiz, Cataluña, Cordoba, the Tango in D. and several other pieces are more familiar from performances by guitarists. The music of Sevilla is a lively dance interspersed with slower more romantic moments.


Sadly, Albeniz wrote no chamber music, however, arrangements of several of the above mentioned works, such as Asturias, are every bit as effective, if not more so, for an ensemble such as the string quartet as they are for the guitar. It is in this spirit that we present our arrangement of Sevilla for string quartet.


Isaac Albeniz (1860-1909) was born in the Spanish town of Camprodon. He began to study the piano at an early age and it was quickly discovered that he was a child prodigy of the highest order. He studied piano with a series of famous teachers and pianists, including Antoine Marmortel, Reinecke and Franz Liszt. He enjoyed a career as soloist, but also as a conductor and composer. Albéniz's influence on Spanish music was profound. His activities as conductor, performer and composer significantly raised the profile of Spanish music abroad and encouraged Spanish music and musicians in his own country.


Parts: $13.95


 Parts & Score: $17.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New