Eugen d'Albert

Soundbite 1st Movement

Soundbite 2nd Movement

Soundbite 3rd Movement

Soundbite 4th Movement

String Quartet No.2 in E flat Major, Op.11

"Eugen d'Albert's String Quartet No.2, published in 1893, is a mature work full of clever invention. The first movement, Andante con moto, is predominantly lyrical with uncommonly fine voice leading. The superb, muted Scherzo, allegro vivace, gives the impression of insects dancing quickly about. The trio and coda are very sentimental. The Adagio non troppo e con molto espressione is full of noble feeling. The middle section is particularly striking with pulsing rhythm. The fleet and exceptionally effective finale, Allegro, has a particularly winning main theme, lyrical and full of forward motion."


These are the words of the famous chamber music critic, Wilhelm Altmann in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.

Eugen d'Albert (1864-1932), who was one of the great piano virtuosi of his generation, was born in Glasgow to an English mother and a French father. After beginning piano lessons with his father, he eventually won a scholarship to the Royal College of Music in London where he studied with Arthur Sullivan among others. While there, he was heard by the famous conductor Hans Richter who sent him to see Liszt in Vienna. In Vienna, d'Albert met Brahms who was very impressed by his playing. So was Liszt, who took him on as a student and came to call him Albertus Magnus as a tribute to his talent.  After completing his studies with Liszt, D’Albert embarked on a successful concert career which included a series of legendary concerts in which he, under the baton of Brahms, interpreted the latter’s two piano concertos. (d'Albert dedicated this quartet to Brahms with the latter's consent)

Although he grew up in England, d'Albert felt himself drawn to Germany and Austria and began to use the German form of his first name, eventually settling in Germany.

Out of print for many years, we are pleased to make this fine work available again to both professional and amateur players.

Parts: $24.95


Parts & Score: $33.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New