Elfrida Andrée

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Piano Trio No.2 in g minor.

"The idiom of the Second Piano Trio, composed in the early 1880s, shows the influence of Schubert, Mendelssohn and Schumann without sounding derivative. The first movement, Allegro agitato, is superb in every way. The opening theme is exciting, the part-writing is first rate, the melodies very beautiful, and the working out thorough, without being in anyway boring. It is, in feel, somewhat reminiscent of Mendelssohn’s first trio without the shamelessly virtuoso and florid piano part. A lovely Andante con espressione follows. It is a very intimate and fine piece of writing with the parts deftly handled. The finale, Rondo, Allegro risoluto, is a softer movement than the title implies, charming and at times delicate. This is a first-rate work which could stand comparison with all comers. The trio was published in 1887."---The Chamber Music Journal


Elrida Andrée's Piano Trio, like her Piano Quintet, would almost certainly have come to the attention of the musical public had she been a man. As it was, despite her great talent, she and her music stood very little chance.


Elfrida Andrée (1841-1929) was born in the Swedish town of Visby on the island of Gotland. The child of avid amateur musicians, she was sent at age 14 to study the organ in Stockholm. She became a virtuoso, the first woman cathedral organist, the first woman conductor and symphonist. Her composition teachers included Ludwig Norman and Niels Gade. Besides her musical work she was politically active and important in the Swedish feminist movement and became the first woman telegraphist. It should be remembered that female composers emerging in the second half of the 19th century did so against the background of the salon and as such most did not obtain a level of composition which went beyond this milieu. Andrée was but one of a very few whose music reached the highest levels of professionalism.


Long out of print and unavailable, we are pleased to reintroduce it once again. It deserves to be heard in concert and amateurs will certainly appreciate the fact that this fine work presents no real technical difficulties.

Parts: $29.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New