Anton Arensky


Danse Capricieuse for Cello and Piano, Op.12 No.2

The Danse Capricieuse is second of two works dating from 1887 and dedicated to the famous Russian cello virtuoso, Carl Davidov. The works were published at the same time The Danse Capricieuse is a true solo recital work intended to show off the cellistís virtuosic technique.


Anton Arensky (1861-1906) was born in Novgorod but his family moved to St. Petersburg while he was still relatively young. His first piano lessons were from his mother. He entered the Petersburg Conservatory in 1879 and three years later graduated with high honors. Among his principal teachers was Rimsky-Korsakov. He subsequently taught at the Moscow Conservatory where he befriended and was influenced by Tchaikovsky and Sergei Taneyev.

Parts: $12.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New