Heinrich Baermann

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Clarinet Quintet No.3 in E flat Major, Op.23

Heinrich Baermann (1784-1847) was born in the Prussian town of Potsdam just outside of Berlin. He studied clarinet and composition in Berlin and became one of the most important clarinet virtuosi during the first part of the the 19th century and is generally considered the father of modern clarinet technique. Although he composed several substantial works, today he is remembered as the inspiration for more famous works by the likes of Carl Maria von Weber, Felix Mendelssohn, Giocomo Meyerbeer, Franz Danzi and Peter Lindpaintner among others. The middle movement of his 1821 Clarinet Quintet No. 3 in E flat Major, Op. 23, a beautiful Adagio, was for more than a century attributed to Richard Wagner, and for this reason, it is one of the few chamber works of his which survived into the 20th century and received new editions.


Our edition has rehearsal numbers and takes page turns into account.


Parts: $29.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New