Woldemar Bargiel

Soundbite 1st Movement

Soundbite 2nd Movement

Soundbite 3rd Movement

String Octet in c minor, Op.15a

"In 1877, Bargiel composed his String Octet. It can certainly be recommended for performance by professionals in concert. Additionally, amateurs, when they have a chance, should not miss the opportunity to play this octet, which not only sounds good but also presents few technical difficulties. Although Bargiel was clearly steeped in the classical masters, nonetheless, this is the work of a composer from the Romantic era and one who possesses a fine tonal palette. The work begins with a lengthy, elegiac Adagio introduction which leads to a magnificent Allegro appassionato full of wonderful writing. (our sound-bite gives only the last few measures of the Adagio and the first part of the Allegro) The lovely coda, with its cello melody, reminds one of Mendelssohn. The middle movement combines a short, religious-sounding, slow movement, Andante sostenuto, which is bound together with a bustling Mendelssohnian scherzo, Allegro. The main theme to the finale, Allegro, is based on a rustic folk dance. It is by turns stormy and gentle."---Wilhelm Altmann, Handbook for String Quartet Players.


Woldemar Bargiel (1828-97) was Clara Schumannís half brother. Clara was nine years older than Woldemar. Throughout their lives, they enjoyed a warm relationship. Thanks to Clara, Bargiel was introduced to both Robert Schumann and Felix Mendelssohn. Upon the suggestion of the former and the recommendation of the latter, he was sent to study at the famous Leipzig Conservatory with two of the leading men of music: Ignaz Moscheles (piano) and Niels Gade (composition). Subsequently, Bargiel held positions at the conservatories in Cologne and Rotterdam before accepting a position at the prestigious Hochschule fur Musik in Berlin where he taught for the rest of his life. Among his many students were Paul Juon and Leopold Godowsky. Besides teaching and composing, Bargiel served with Brahms as co-editor of the complete editions of Schumannís and Chopinís works. While Bargiel did not write a lot of music, most of what he composed was well thought out and shows solid musical craftsmanship. His chamber musicóhe wrote four string quartets, a string octet and three piano triosórepresents an important part of his output.


Long out of print, we are pleased to make this fine octet available once again.


(A) Qctet-Parts Only $49.95
(B) Parts & Score US Addresses Only $74.95
(C) Parts & Score Non US Addresses $94.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New