Charles Auguste de Beriot

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Piano Trio No.2 in D Major, Op.58

Charles Auguste de Beriot (1802-1870) was was born in in the Belgian city of Leuven. At the age of 8 he moved to Paris. He studied the violin and was influenced by such luminaries as Viotti, Baillot and Paganini. He became a concert violinist and toured with great success throughout Europe. Later, he he served as a professor of violin at the Brussels Conservatory and is considered the founder of the so-called Franco-Belgian school of violin playing. He wrote a great deal of music, most of it for the violin, and his influence as a teacher remains important to this day. He did not, however, ignore chamber music, and has four piano trios and a piano quartet to his credit.


Piano Trio No.2 in D Major dates from 1845. The lovely opening movement, Moderato, begins with the violin introducing a leisurely. lyrical theme which is then taken up by the cello before a development. The writing is not at all virtuosic but in true chamber music style. In the middle movement, Adagio, the main theme is a folk melody carried mainly by the strings. A dramatic and exciting middle section interrupts proceedings before calm returns. Although the buoyant finale, Rondo, allegretto, starts off in d minor, it sounds as if is in the major and the movement does end triumphantly end in D Major. All three instruments are given a chance to shine.


Well-written for all three voices, this is an appealing work which should be of interest to both amateurs and professionals. There has never been an edition or a reprint which has had rehearsal letters. Ours does. Either out of print or hard to find, we are pleased to make this trio available once more.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New