Luigi Boccherini

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Cello Sonata No.2 in C Major, G.6

Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805) was born in the town of Lucca in northern Italy. He studied cello and became a virtuoso. But it was at a time that such players could not yet make a living from touring, so Boccherini found jobs in various orchestras in Vienna and Italy. Boccherini eventually moved to Paris where he hoped to establish himself as an independent soloist and composer but could not and was forced to take employment with the Spanish royal family for the rest of his life. 

The cello being his own instrument, it is not surprising to learn that Boccherini composed over 30 sonatas for cello and basso continuo. But the best known of all of these works are the six published first in London by Bremner in 1771. However, all subsequent editions, starting in the mid 19th century have realized the keyboard part so that it could be performed by the modern piano. Sonata No.2 in C Major, G.6 follows the same basic pattern of the First Sonata. In the first movement, Allegro, the first section is stated in the dominant but when repeated is played in the tonic. In the slow movement, Largo, we find a great deal of ornamentation. The calm mood abrubtly changes with the appearance for the finale, Allegro. Here the use of arpeggios is a prominent feature not found in the first sonata.


(A) Cello Sonata No.2


(B) Special Offer Cello Sonata Nos. 1-3





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New