Luigi Boccherini

Soundbite 1st Movement

Soundbite 2nd Movement

Soundbite 3rd Movement

Soundbite 4th Movement

String Trio in G Major, Op.34 No.2, G.102

For 2 Violins & Cello

Boccherini's Op.34 string trios for two violins and cello are probably the finest he wrote for this ensemble, and he wrote nearly 60. The intricate part-writing is excellent, the moods and tonal colors he brings forth are wide-ranging and the overall treatment of the three voices leave nothing to be desired.

Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805) was born in the town of Lucca in northern Italy. He studied cello and became a virtuoso. But it was at a time that such players could not yet make a living from touring, so Boccherini found jobs in various orchestras in Vienna and Italy. Boccherini eventually moved to Paris where he hoped to establish himself as an independent soloist and composer but could not and was forced to take employment with the Spanish royal family for the rest of his life. 

The opening movement, Allegretto comodo assai, begins with a formal fanfare. The main part of the movement, with its gracious melodies, unfolds in a leisurely fashion. A very interesting Menuetto comes next. Here dynamics play a very important role. In the somewhat Spanish sounding trio, the cello is given the lead. A very poignant Adagio follows. It begins with a mournful air and its lovely melodies are full of sorrow. The finale, Rondo, allegro ma non presto, is a gay affair. There is much energy, but there is never a rushed feeling.

This trio is without doubt among the best for this combination of instruments and can be recommended without reservation to ensembles seeking a first rate work for this combination. Our edition is the first and only to add rehearsal numbers.

Parts: $19.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New