Luigi Boccherini

Soundbite 1st Movement

Soundbite 2nd Movement

Soundbite 3rd Movement

Soundbite 4th Movement

String Trio in E flat Major, Op.34 No.3, G.103

For 2 Violins & Cello

Boccherini's Op.34 string trios for two violins and cello are probably the finest he wrote for this ensemble, and he wrote nearly 60. The intricate part-writing is excellent, the moods and tonal colors he brings forth are wide-ranging and the overall treatment of the three voices leave nothing to be desired.

Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805) was born in the town of Lucca in northern Italy. He studied cello and became a virtuoso. But it was at a time that such players could not yet make a living from touring, so Boccherini found jobs in various orchestras in Vienna and Italy. Boccherini eventually moved to Paris where he hoped to establish himself as an independent soloist and composer but could not and was forced to take employment with the Spanish royal family for the rest of his life. 

The opening movement, Allegro ma non presto, has a gentle melody for its main theme, very typical of Boccherini. Though the key signature does change, the music hovers between major and minor, giving it a somewhat diffident quality. The lovely main theme to the second movement, Largo non tanto, is sad, but exhibits a formal, stately quality. The Menuetto, which comes next, creates the illusion of a brisk tempo within a steady beat. A favorite style of Boccherini. The finale, Rondo, allegretto comodo, is not particularly quick and has a valedictory quality. In the middle section, the cello is given the chance to lead and rises from the C string well into its treble register.

This trio like the others in this set is among the best for this combination of instruments and can be recommended without reservation to ensembles seeking a first rate work for this combination. Our edition has corrected errors and is the first and only to add rehearsal numbers.

Parts: $19.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New