Léon Boëllmann






Suite for Violoncello & Piano, Op.6

Léon Boëllmann (1862-1897) was born in the Alsatian town of Ensisheim. He moved to Paris after the Franco-Prussian War after which Alsace became part of Germany. In Paris, he studied organ, piano and composition at the Ecole de Musique Classique, winning many honors. After graduating he worked as a teacher at the Ecole. His compositions won him considerable recognition and he almost certainly would have made a greater name for himself had he not died at the young age of 35.


His Suite for Cello and Piano dates from 1890 and the titles of its four movements---Impromptu, Nocturne, Serenade and Romance indicate that although the work was intended as a suite, any of its movements could be played alone as a shorter program work an encore. 

This lovely work, so typical of French Romanticism makes a fine addition fresh and work to the cellist repertoire. We are pleased to make it available after more than a century of being out of print.

Parts: $19.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New