Franz Bölsche

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

String Quartet No.2 in c minor, Op.27

"I can warmly recommend Franz Bölsche's String Quartet No.2 which dates from 1900 and was published in 1904. It is not only clearly written but sounds quite good and for that reason is noteworthy."---the famous chamber music critic Wilhelm Altmann, writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players


Johannes Eduard Franz Bölsche (1869-1935) was born in the German town of Wegenstedt. He studied composition with Woldemar Bargiel at the Royal Conservatory in Berlin and subsequently pursued a career as a composer and teacher, eventually becoming a professor at the Cologne Conservatory where Volkmar Andreae numbered among his many students. Bölsche was not a prolific composer but had two piano trios and two string quartets to his credit. (The first of which was never published)


Altmann goes on to describe this work as follows:


The first movement begins with a short Adagio introduction. The principal theme of main section of the movement, Allegro,  is a lyrical, bustling melody. Next comes an Allegro quasi scherzo, recommends itself in particular through its rhythmic originality, with a nicely contrasting elegiac trio. The third  movement is a lovely, blossoming Adagio. The finale consists of an attractive theme with six excellent contrasting variations, the fifth of which, an Adagio, and the last, a very effective Allegretto molto, are particularly fine.


Unavailable for more almost a century, we are pleased to reintroduce this fine work which truly deserves to be heard on the concert stage as well as to take a place on the stands of amateur players.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New