York Bowen

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt


Soundbite 4th Movt

Suite for Violin and Piano in d minor, Op.28

Bowen’s Suite for Violin and Piano in d minor, Op.28 dates from 1909 and was dedicated to the famous violinist Fritz Kreisler. It is a massive work in four movements: Mouvement de Sonate an Allegro moderato, a Barcarolle an Andantino,, a Humoresque, which is an Allegro scherzando and a Finale an Allegro con spirito. It is written in a late Romantic, post Brahmsian style, showing combining the style of late Central European romaticism and French impressionism.


York Bowen ( 1884-1961) was born London. His early training was as a pianist and he was considered a prodigy on that instrument. He studied piano and composition at the Royal Academy of Music winning many prizes while he was there. By the time he was 25, he had obtained a professorship at the Academy. He enjoyed a successful career not only as a pianist but also as a conductor and composer as well as a teacher. Some critics have summed up his style as Rachmaninov with a tendancy toward Impressionism.


Parts $24.95

 Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New