Hans von Bronsart

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Piano Trio in g minor, Op.1

Franz Liszt, writing about Bronsart’s Piano which was composed in 1856, noted, “It ranks with the best music which has been written over the past several years.”


Hans von Bronsart (1830-1913) was born in Berlin where he studied composition with Siegfried Dehn and piano with Theodor Kullak. In 1853, he traveled to Weimar where he studied with Liszt, who held an extremely high opinion of him both as a pianist and a composer. It was Bronsart to whom he entrusted the premier performance of his Second Piano Concerto and was so pleased with the performance that he dedicated the work to him. After his studies with Liszt, Bronsart worked as a conductor in Leipzig, Berlin, Hanover and Weimar. He was considered one of the best of his day. Not a prolific composer, as he primarily devoted himself to conducting, those works which he did produce were generally considered to be first rate.


Writing in Cobbett’s Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music, the highly respected music critic Rudolf Felber has this to say about Bronsart;s Piano Trio:


“The Piano Trio is a masterpiece which most skillfully combines form with noble contents. Both as a whole and in detail, it makes a favorable impression and reveals origingal thought. It begins with a vigorous introduction which leads to the first movement, which beginning pp, gradually builds to a powerful climax. The second subject, with its soft, elegiac mood provides a fine contrast to the defiant first theme. The second movement, Vivace, begins in piquant fashion and is followed by a cantilena section of considerable harmonic interest. The Adagio which comes next, with its powerful climax, is particularly beautiful. A short Grave introduction leads to a bright Allegro appassionato. The movement is full of original ideas which bear witness to Bronsart’s talent.”


This work has been unavailable for well over a century. We have reprinted the original and only edition, but have added rehearsal letters. Here is a work sure to interest both professionals and amateurs alike.

Parts: $29.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New