Adolf Busch

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Piano Trio No.1 in a minor, Op.15

"Adolf Busch's Piano Trio No.1 in a minor, Op.15 dates from 1920. It is in four movements, dark and moody. Still tonal it combines elements of Brahms, Bruckner, Mahler and stretches tonality to its limits. The finale, recalls Bach and is perhaps the most approachable. At times very beautiful, at other times harsh and strident. This is a work which is certain make a strong impression in the concert hall. The opening movement, Allegro agitato, is by turns passionate, dramatic and full of restlessness. The second movement, Scherzo, is taken a rather moderate tempo and is a kind of ghostly nocturne. Next comes a powerful and very chromatic Largo. The trio is topped off by a magnificent Finale, Allegro moderato, ma con fuoco."---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for Piano Trio Players.


Adolf Busch (1891-1952) was born in the German town of Siegen. He studied violin and composition at the Cologne Conservatory and became one of the leading soloists of the day specializing in the classical repertoire. He also founded two famous string quartets, the Vienna Konzertverein Quartet and the Busch Quartet.


Parts: $29.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New