Adolf Busch

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Serenade for String Quartet, Op.14

"One expects from a devotee of the classics, especially of classical era string quartets, such as the great violinist Adolf Busch to follow in the footsteps of the great classical composers. Busch was also influenced by Max Reger but that influence is all but missing in his Op.14 Serenade for String Quartet which appeared in 1919. This entirely appealing work is in no way hard to play. By giving the work the title 'Serenade' Busch means to imply that this is not a serious work but one meant for entertainment. The first movement Allegro moderato, ma con spirito, begins with an introductory march and is followed by two impressive themes. The Andante sostenuto which follows is lush but subdued. The third movement, Allegro vivace, is full of humor and is contrasted by an unpretentious but charming middle section. The finale, Allegretto, is a theme and very effective set of variations."---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.


Adolf Busch (1891-1952) was born in the German town of Siegen. He studied violin and composition at the Cologne Conservatory and became one of the leading soloists of the day specializing in the classical repertoire. He also founded two famous string quartets, the Vienna Konzertverein Quartet and the Busch Quartet.


As a string quartet player himself, Busch knew how to write well for the instruments and make an effective work. The Serenade is charming and very appealing. It is written in a neo-classical style. It would make an excellent choice for the concert hall but should not be missed by amateur players.


Parts: $24.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New