Paul de Wailly





Six Pieces for 2 Violins and Cello

Paul de Wailly (1854-1933) was born in the French town of Abbeville. He entered the Paris Conservatory where he studied organ and composition with Cesar Franck. He composed in most genres writing symphonies, oratorios, and chamber music. The style of his writing is late French Romantic though not particularly impressions. Rather he writes in the tradition of his teacher Franck.


His Six Pieces for 2 Violins and Cello dates from 1919 and was the result of a commission he received from musician friends. The music was intended for the concert hall but it is not at all difficult to play. The five of the six pieces are subtitled, only the first is without one. The pieces are Andante ma non troppo, Scherzino vivo, Idylle andantino, Alla Polacca marcato, Regrets larghetto and Ronde allegro. The slower movements are highly evocative and atmospheric and show de Wailly's compositional skills.


Trios for 2 Violins and Cello after the mid 19th century are very few. This is quite a good one and we highly recommend it to both amateurs and professionals.


Parts: $17.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New