Ignacy Dobrzynski

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt


Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quintet No.1 in F Major, Op.20

For 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos or 2 Violins, 2 Violas & Cello

"String Quintet in F, Op.20 dates from the late 1830’s. We need not look beyond its dedication “a Monsieur George Onslow” to determine the inspiration and model that must have served for Dobrzynski. Onslow was the best-known composer of works for this genre at this time. (Schubert’s great quintet still lay undiscovered). The first movement, Allegro moderato, stylistically shows an affinity with the music of Spohr, especially in the lovely melodic writing. Particularly admirable is the way Dobrzynski makes excellent use of his second cello, a technique he learned from studying Onslow’s double cello quintets. This is a very engaging and well-executed movement that holds the listener from start to finish. It is followed by a Minuetto, Allegro moderato, a minuet, in the early romantic style. The main theme is graceful and elegant and has a vague Polish flavor to it. The third movement, Andante, Doloroso ma non troppo lente, begins with a mournful introduction which leads has a gorgeous melody, which serves as the main theme. The finale, Vivace assai, is a polacca, very melodic and full of energy, it provides a suitable conclusion to a very good quintet."---The Chamber Music Journal


Ignacy Feliks Dobrzynski (1807-67) was the son of a kapellmeister to a Polish count who held much the same duties that Haydn did with the Esterhazys. Training from his father and experience with the count’s orchestra provided Dobrzynski’s early musical education. Later he went to the Warsaw Conservatory and studied piano and composition with Josef Elsner. While he achieved only moderate success in his native Poland, in Germany, his works were highly praised, and critical reviews in newspapers, such as those in the influential city of Leipzig, were very favorable.


Only published once, we looked for a set of parts to this very fine work for many years. The copy we eventually obtained, being over 170 years old, was not in the best of condition. It was faded in places and there were water marks and the detritus of age. We have spent many hours digitally cleaning and darkening and have been able to create a good, serviceable performance edition in order to rescue this masterwork from oblivion. But, it is not pristine like a newly published work nor the equal in quality of a modern edition. The price, less than our generally very low prices, reflects this fact.


(A) 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos-Parts $26.95
(B) 2 Violins, 2 Violas & Cello-Parts $26.95
(C) All Six Parts $33.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New