Ignacy Dobrzynski

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt


Soundbite 4th Movt

String Sextet in E flat Major, Op.39

For 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos & Bass

"The Sextet is full of glorious melodies, inventiveness and originality. Hear it and weep that such a work could fall into oblivion. Strong words, but this is such an excellent piece that they are surely justified. The Sextet, composed in 1845, was performed to considerable acclaim by the Leipzig Gewandhaus concertmaster Ferdinand David and his colleagues in 1849. The first of four movements, a lovely Allegro moderato ed espressivo, is reminiscent of Spohr. The unusual Minuetto, allegro which follows begins as a fugue and only gradually transforms itself into a minuet. The trio section is a very attractive, sentimental waltz. The third movement, Elegia, andante espressivo e sostenuto, was said to have created the greatest impression upon audiences. It was known as Hommage a Kosciuszko. It begins with a funereal dirge and has a brief stormy middle section. The finale, an energetic Allegro, is replete with fine melodic material."---The Chamber Music Journal


Ignacy Feliks Dobrzynski (1807-67) was the son of a kapellmeister to a Polish count who held much the same duties that Haydn did with the Esterhazys. Training from his father and experience with the countís orchestra provided Dobrzynskiís early musical education. Later he went to the Warsaw Conservatory and studied piano and composition with Josef Elsner. While he achieved only moderate success in his native Poland, in Germany, his works were highly praised, and critical reviews in newspapers, such as those in the influential city of Leipzig, were very favorable.

Parts: $37.95



Contact Us



Place Order

What's New