Gaetano Donizetti

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quartet No.6 in g minor

Donizetti's String Quartet No.6 in g minor is an early work which was completed in 1819, while the composer was still studying at the Bolognese Conservatory. It is in four movements and opens with a pleasant Allegro which is followed by a charming Larghetto. The third movement is an exciting Presto and the work concludes with a good natured Allegro giusto.


Donizetti (1797-1848) was born in Bergamo, Italy of humble origins. His father was an assistant at the village pawnshop. In 1806, at the age of 9, he was able to attend a charitable school and there met the then famous composer, Simone Mayr, who became his mentor and lifelong friend. Donizetti is well-known, of course, as a composer for the opera. However, many will be surprised to learn that he did write a fair amount of chamber music, including 18 string quartets, some string quintets, piano trios, and an octet for winds and strings along with several other instrumental works.


Certainly amateurs will enjoy playing this tuneful work which makes no technical demands on the players.


 Parts $24.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New