Felix Draeseke

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbite 5th Movt

String Quartet No.3 in c# minor, Op.66

"Draeseke was a musician whose works, even in his lifetime, received far fewer performances than they deserved in view of their high artistic value. His Third String Quartet dates from 1899. The first movement, Andantino elegiaco, expresses sadness which is at times interrupted by stormy episodes. The second movement, Scherzo, allegro spumante, lives up to its title, while the trio, with its easy tunefulness, provides a soothing contrast. A very expressive slow movement, Adagio non tanto, which is tinged with melancholy comes next. Before the finale, Draeseke inserts a graceful Intermezzo. The finale, Allegro risoluto, begins in a powerful, almost harsh fashion, while the second theme is a lovely cantabile melody."--The famous chamber music critic Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Chamber Music Handbook.


Felix Draeseke (1835-1913) was born in the German city of  Coburg. He began composing at an early age and subsequently entered the famous Leipzig Conservatory where he studied composition with Julius Rietz and piano with Ignaz Moscheles. However, his musical outlook was shaped and influenced by the so-called New German School of which Liszt and Wagner were the leading proponents. He held a number of teaching positions in Switzerland and Germany, eventually settling in the city of Dresden and a few years later began teaching at the Dresden Conservatory. He wrote in nearly every genre and his works were frequently performed during his lifetime. Liszt was a champion of many of Draeseke’s compositions and helped them gain publication.


Our edition is based on the original 1899 edition by Förberg. We believe this is a first class string quartet which both professionals and amateurs alike would find a very valuable addition to their collections.


Parts: $24.95

 Parts & Score: $32.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New