Felix Draeseke

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quintet in F Major, Op.77

For 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos

"The String Quintet for 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos in F, Op.77 dates from 1901. The opening movement Langsam und düster, begins slowly. The yearning tonalities are at times post-Wagnerian. One definitely feels the influence of Beethoven’s late quartets and this is true for all of the movements. The following Scherzo is restless and energetic. The austerity of the melodic material keeps the mood on its somber pitch. The third movement, Langsam und getragen, is deeply elegiac. There is a universality to the way the thematic material is presented. This is a very impressive movement. The finale, Langsam und düster; rasch und feurig, begins almost in the same mood as the 3rd movement ends but then brightens, becoming rather jovial. it ends rather gently. Although the complexity of the thematic material sometimes requires careful listening to grasp, one instinctively recognizes that this quintet is a masterpiece.--The Chamber Music Journal


Felix Draeseke (1835-1913) was born in the German city of  Coburg. He began composing at an early age and subsequently entered the famous Leipzig Conservatory where he studied composition with Julius Rietz and piano with Ignaz Moscheles. However, his musical outlook was shaped and influenced by the so-called New German School of which Liszt and Wagner were the leading proponents. He held a number of teaching positions in Switzerland and Germany, eventually settling in the city of Dresden and a few years later began teaching at the Dresden Conservatory. He wrote in nearly every genre and his works were frequently performed during his lifetime. Liszt was a champion of many of Draeseke’s compositions and helped them gain publication.


In addition, we are pleased to offer this Quintet in a version for 2 Violins, Violas, Cello and Bass. Our bass part was made by Anthony Scelba, noted bass soloist, Professor of Music and Director of the Concert Artists Program of Kean University. Professor Scelba has created an idiomatic bass part that adds breadth and clarity to the timbral spectrum of the work, making it a welcome addition to the double bass chamber music repertoire. The bass version also requires a separate cello part, also created by Dr Scelba. The cello I part of the standard quintet cannot be used. Score available upon request.


(A) 2 Violins, Viola & 2 Cellos-Parts $29.95
(B) 2 Violins, Viola, Cello & Bass-Parts $29.95
(C) All Seven Parts* $43.95

* Note: The bass version requires a separate cello part, hence, to play both versions you need all 7 parts





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New