Thomas Dunhill

Soundbite Movt1

Soundbite Movt2

Soundbite Movt3

Violin Sonata No.2 in F Major, Op.50

Dunhill's Violin Sonata No.2 in F Major, Op.50 dates from 1918 toward the end of the First World War. It is in three movements and opens with a big, vigorous Allegro moderato which has two substantial themes. The first is rhapsodic in nature while the second is less intense and somewhat dreamy. The second movement, Adagio lamentoso, reflects the time during which the sonata was composed. One can hear the roll of drums in the piano part, while the violin is given a noble, heroic melody of considerable intensity. The main theme of the finale, Molto vivace, is full of energy but is juxtaposed throughout with a more lyrical second theme.


Thomas Dunhill (1877-1946) grew up in London and was part of the Dunhill family which founded the famous tobacco shop in that city. He studied composition at the Royal College of Music with Charles Villiers Stanford. After graduating, he enjoyed a long and distinguished career as a teacher and composer, eventually serving as a professor at the Royal College. He was especially fond of chamber music and wrote a considerable amount.


This is an important English violin sonata from the late Romantic period. Long out of print and unavailable, we hope that it will find a place on recital programs.

Parts: $24.95





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New