Maurice Emmanuel

Soundbite Movt 1

Soundbite Movt 2

Soundbite Movt 3

Sonate en Trio for Flute, Clarinet & Piano, Op.11

Maurice Emmanuel's Sonate en Trio for flute, clarinet and piano dates from 1907. In the three movements, it begins with a jovial Allegro spirito that has for its main theme a folk-like subject. Other ideas are brought forth in a free form caprice style. The middle movement is a meditative and somber Adagio. The finale, Molto allegro e leggierissimo, is light-footed and has the quality of a scherzo.


Maurice Emmanuel (1862-1938) was born in the French city of Dijon. He studied at the Paris Conservatory with Leo Delibes and Cesar Franck. He pursued a dual career as a composer and musicologist and in 1909 obtained the position of Professor of Music History at the Conservatory. Though not a prolific composer, he composed in most genres. Among his many students were Robert Casadesus, Yvonne Lefébure, Georges Migot, Jacques Chailley, Olivier Messiaen and Henri Dutilleux.


Unavailable for a very long time we are pleased to make it available once again and recommend it to groups looking for a first rate French work which exhibits an independence of thought and ideas.


Parts: $19.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New