Maurice Emmanuel

Soundbite Movt 1

Soundbite Movt 2

Soundbite Movt 3

Sonata for Violin and Piano in d minor, Op.6

Maurice Emmanuel's Violin Sonata in d minor was composed in 1907. In letters to friends, Emmanuel acknowledged his debt to his teacher Cesar Franck. In three movements, the work opens with an Allegro moderato which has for its main subject a highly chromatic theme first introduced by the piano. The second movement, Adagio non troppo, alternates between expansive lyricism and more meditative moods. The finale, Allegro giocoso ma non troppo, is the most memorable, beginning in lively fashion and then building to a tremendous dramatic climax.


Maurice Emmanuel (1862-1938) was born in the French city of Dijon. He studied at the Paris Conservatory with Leo Delibes and Cesar Franck. He pursued a dual career as a composer and musicologist and in 1909 obtained the position of Professor of Music History at the Conservatory. Though not a prolific composer, he composed in most genres. Among his many students were Robert Casadesus, Yvonne Lefébure, Georges Migot, Jacques Chailley, Olivier Messiaen and Henri Dutilleux.


This is a fine, early French modern work which deserves to be heard in the recital hall where it is sure to make a strong impression. Long out of print, we are pleased to make it available once again.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New