Georges Enescu


Concertstück for Viola and Piano

Georges Enescu (1881-1955) was a child prodigy on the violin and also the piano. He entered the Vienna Conservatory at age seven graduating at age 13. The next year he continued his studies at the Paris Conservatory. He became a violin virtuoso and famous teacher of the violin, but also devoted himself to composition which he studied with Massenet and Faure. He is remembered today mostly for his two Romanian Rhapsodies for Orchestra, but he wrote in virtually every genre and produced a considerable amount of fine chamber music.

His Concertstück for Viola and Piano was composed in 1906 for a competition. It is a lyrical work which is designed to exhibit the violist's talent. It combines the style of a rhapsody, with a French impressionist texture combined with certain elements of Romanian folk music. It is in one substantial movement with several subsections, about 10 minutes in duration.

This is a first rate work for violists which will make a strong impression in the recital hall.

Parts: $12.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New