Michele Esposito

Soundbite Movt 1

Soundbite Movt 2

Soundbite Movt 3

Violin Sonata No.1 in G Major, Op.32

Michele Esposito's Violin Sonata No.1 in G Major was dedicated to his fellow countryman, Guido Papini, who served as Professor of Violin at the same time Esposito taught there. The Sonata was premiered by them in 1893 in Dublin and published by Schott in London the same year. The opening movement, Moderato, begins with a lovely, flowing melody in the violin to a rippling accompaniment in the piano. Dramatic tension is raised by the introduction of the second subject. The middle movement, Lento con molto sentimento, begins in the style of a parlor piece but quickly becomes more passionate. The finale, Allegro vivace, opens with a wild, Hungarian motif, full of forward drive. For contrast, there is calmer and more lyrical melody as a second subject.


Michele Esposito (1855-1929) was born in the Italian town Castellemare near the city of Sorrento. He studied at the Naples Conservatory and pursued a career as a composer and Professor of Piano at the Royal Irish Academy in Dublin for more than forty years. His music combines Italian vocal quality with a French lightness. He composed in most genres and was especially attentive to chamber music.


Long out of print, we are pleased to make this fine sonata available again and believe that it deserves to be heard in the recital hall where it is sure to make a good impression.

Parts: $24.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New