Michele Esposito

Soundbite Movt 1

Soundbite Movt 2

Soundbite Movt 3

Soundbite Movt 4

Violin Sonata No.3 in A Major, Op.67

Michele Esposito's Violin Sonata No.3 in A Major was completed in 1913 and dedicated to the Irish composer and conductor Hamilton Harty. The opening movement, Affectuosamente, begins in a leisurely, rhapsodic fashion, but soon the pace quickens and the music becomes rather agitated. Next comes an Allegretto moderato, in a dance-like tempo which approximates a waltz. Contrast is provided by the lighter, filigree trio section. The third movement, Andante cantabile, captivates by virtue of its expressive, haunting melody, which serves as the main theme. The finale, Allegretto grazioso, is genial, good-natured affair, but interspersed with some dramatic fireworks.


Michele Esposito (1855-1929) was born in the Italian town Castellemare near the city of Sorrento. He studied at the Naples Conservatory and pursued a career as a composer and Professor of Piano at the Royal Irish Academy in Dublin for more than forty years. His music combines Italian vocal quality with a French lightness. He composed in most genres and was especially attentive to chamber music.


Parts: $24.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New