Wilhelm Fitzenhagen


Concert Waltzes for 4 Cellos, 31

Wilhelm Fitzenhagen (1848-1890) was born in the German town of Seesen, where his father was serving as music director. After studying with his father, he continued his studies with Theodor Müller and Friedrich Grützmacher, at the time the most famous cello teacher in Germany. On Grützmacher’s recommendation, he obtained a position of the Royal Saxon Hofkapelle and also pursued a solo career which brought him to the attention of both Franz Liszt and Nikolai Rubinstein founder of the Moscow Conservatory and, brother of the famous pianist Anton. Liszt wanted to engage Fitzenhagen as solo cellist of the grand-ducal orchestra in Weimar, where he was serving as music director, while  Nikolai Rubinstein offered him a professorship at the Moscow Conservatory. He accepted Rubinstein's offer and became one of Russia's most important cello teachers and enjoyed an important solo career, taking part in the premiere of the Rococo Variations by Tchaikovsky as well as the premiere of his string quartets and piano trio. Fitzenhagen wrote several cello concertos and works for cello and piano which entered the 19th century repertoire as recital pieces and encores. He also composed a string quartet.


The Concert Waltzes, there are five, were composed during the 1880's but do not appear to have been published until after Fitzenhagen's death. The writing is unquestionably virtuosic and all of the four are asked to play at various points in their highest registers. It is so well written, that it hardly seems one is listening to four cellos rather than a standard string quartet. Certainly, here is a great work which four cellists can use to showcase their abilities.


Parts: $15.95


Parts & Score: $19.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New