Robert Fuchs

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Clarinet Quintet in E flat Major, Op.102

"Robert Fuchs' magnificent Clarinet Quintet was not, unfortunately, published until 1919 almost ten years after being composed. In this highly polished work, brimming with invention, Fuchs's command for form is masterly. The work is clearly in the tradition of Brahms and might almost be a tribute to him. The opening movement, Allegro molto moderato, is written on a big tonal canvas. The very plastic opening theme, immediately brings Brahms to mind not only with its melody but also its characteristic accompaniment. The impressive main theme of the second movement, Allegro scherzando, is fleet. An excellent contrast is provided by the trio section, an updated musette. An Andante sostenuto follows. It breathes in the same wonderful air of Beethoven and is further enhanced by its magical tonalities. Fuchs, as did Brahms, follows Mozart's example of using a theme variations for his finale. They are first rate. I recommend this work to professionals for concert performance and, of course, to amateur groups as well."---Wilhelm Altmann in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.

Robert Fuchs (1847-1927) was born near the Styrian capital of Graz and attended the University of Vienna Conservatory studying with Otto Dessoff and Joseph Hellmesberger. By 1875, he himself was teaching at the Conservatory, eventually rising to the rank of Professor of Composition. He was one of the most famous and revered teachers of his time. Mahler, Sibelius, Hugo Wolf, Franz Schmidt, Alexander Zemlinsky, Franz Schrecker and Richard Heuberger were among his many students.

Here is a clarinet quintet quintet which can rightfully take its place alongside the best. Published only once and out of print for long periods of time, we hope that by making this outstanding work available again, we will help to bring it to the attention chamber music players both professional and amateur. Fuchs also made an alternate viola part in lieu of the clarinet so that the work could be played as a string quartet. We have reprinted that as well.


(A) Clarinet & String Quartet $29.95
(B) Standard  String Quintet (2Vla) $29.95
(C) All Six Parts $34.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New