Robert Fuchs

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Piano Quartet No.2 in b minor, Op.75

The entry in Cobbett's Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music has this to say about Robert Fuchs:


 "Fuchs was an extremely refined and cultured composer. He stood high in favor with Brahms who continually gave him warm recommendations to publishers. Together with excellent technical equipment, he possessed the gift for writing charming melodies."

Robert Fuchs (1847-1927) was born near the Styrian capital of Graz and attended the University of Vienna Conservatory studying with Otto Dessoff and Joseph Hellmesberger. By 1875, he himself was teaching at the Conservatory, eventually rising to the rank of Professor of Composition. He was one of the most famous and revered teachers of his time. Mahler, Sibelius, Hugo Wolf, Franz Schmidt, Alexander Zemlinsky, Franz Schrecker and Richard Heuberger were among his many students.

That his compositions did not become better known was largely due to the fact that he did little to promote them, living a quiet life in Vienna and refusing to arrange concerts, even when the opportunity arose, in other cities. He certainly had his admirers, including many famous conductors such as Arthur Nikisch, Felix Weingartner and Hans Richter, who championed his works when they had the opportunity.

Fuchs wrote two piano quartets. The first dates from his youth, Piano Quartet No.2 was composed in 1904.  Of this work, Wilhelm Altmann, perhaps the most influential chamber music critic of the 20th century, writes:

ďA finely inspired work of great merit. The first movement is reminiscent of Schubert. The beautiful second movement, a theme with variations has many outstanding espisodes, while the charming Scherzo and trio which follow are true examples of Austrian music. The energetic and buoyant finale, Allegro, makes a very strong impression and fitting close to this outstanding work."

Obviously, a first rate work worthy of both professionals and amateurs alike. Out of print for nearly a century, we are pleased to make it available once again

Parts: $34.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New