Robert Fuchs

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Violin Sonata No.2 in D Major, Op.33

Fuchs wrote violin sonatas throughout most of his life. His Second Violin Sonata dates from 1883. At its premiere the critics praised it noting it combined a gift for lovely melody but not without a weighty profundity.

Robert Fuchs (1847-1927) was born near the Styrian capital of Graz and attended the University of Vienna Conservatory studying with Otto Dessoff and Joseph Hellmesberger. By 1875, he himself was teaching at the Conservatory, eventually rising to the rank of Professor of Composition. He was one of the most famous and revered teachers of his time. Mahler, Sibelius, Hugo Wolf, Franz Schmidt, Alexander Zemlinsky, Franz Schrecker and Richard Heuberger were among his many students.

The buoyant main theme to the opening movement, Allegro, is dominated by its rhythm which carries the music forward with considerable energy. The Andante which follows is calm and peaceful. The finale, Allegro giocoso, has for its first subject a rondo, the dance-like with a dotted rhythm. It is interspersed with heavily melodies, almost gloomy in mood, but making a fine contrast.

This is undoubtably an important sonata which belongs in the repertoire of every violinist interested in a first rate mid-late romantic work.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New