Robert Fuchs

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Violin Sonata No.3 in d minor, Op.68

Fuchs wrote violin sonatas throughout most of his life. However, there is a long gap between the composition of his Second Violin composed in 1883 and the Third Sonata which appeared in 1901. It was dedicated to the famous violinist Joseph Joachim.

Robert Fuchs (1847-1927) was born near the Styrian capital of Graz and attended the University of Vienna Conservatory studying with Otto Dessoff and Joseph Hellmesberger. By 1875, he himself was teaching at the Conservatory, eventually rising to the rank of Professor of Composition. He was one of the most famous and revered teachers of his time. Mahler, Sibelius, Hugo Wolf, Franz Schmidt, Alexander Zemlinsky, Franz Schrecker and Richard Heuberger were among his many students.

The opening movement, Allegro moderato ma con passione, has a certain heaviness to it, not quite grieving but certainly yearning. The middle movement, Andante grazioso, is based on a folk melody, again not exactly sad, but nonetheless with a dark and brooding quality. The marking of the finale, Allegro con fuoco, ma non troppo, is exactly on point. Although the music begins in fiery fashion, it is tempered by a vague sense of restraint.

This sonata, as its fellows, show Fuchs's master craftmanship and meticulous compositional ability. Unavailable for many years are pleased to bring back.

Parts: $24.95 




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New