Felice Giardini

String Trio No.9

String Trio No.10

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt
Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

String Trios for Violin, Viola & Cello

 No.9 in D Major & No.10 in C Major

Felice Giardini (1716-1796) was born in Turin. When it became clear that he was a child prodigy, his father sent him to Milan. There he the violin and became a famous virtuoso. He was widely regarded as the greatest musical performing artist before the public. (1755-1770). He eventually settled in England where served as the concertmaster and director of the Italian Opera in London and gave solo concerts under the auspices of J.C. Bach with whom he was a close friend. 

Giardini was a prolific composer writing for virtually every genre which then existed. As a string player, he knew how to make string instruments sound their best. His chamber music combines the so-called “Style Gallant” with the mid 18th classicism of J.C. Bach, the Stamitzes and the Mannheim school. In the “Style Gallant”, the writing emphasizes the soloistic qualities of the instruments, rather than the integrated writing of all three parts to create a whole, which J.C. Bach and the Mannheim composers pioneered.

Giardini wrote 18 trios for violin, viola and cello. Nos. 9 and 10 are part of a set of six which were published together as his Op.20 in 1778. He was then at the height of his powers. In these trios, the roles and importance of each instrument is constantly varied. While the viola is often the glue between the violin and the cello, at times, it becomes the the soloist. The cello covers the entire range of its registers, hopping from deep in its bass to high in its tenor. Each of the trios is in three movements. 


Notes to String Trio No.9

Notes to String Trio No.10

Trio No.9 begins with a languid Adagio and features by long-lined, Italian cantabile melodies. The middle movement, Presto, begins in canonic fashion and in the writing anticipates Haydn's style in his Opp.20 and 33 quartets. The finale, Andante grazioso, is in the form of gentle country dance.


In the spirited opening movement, Maestoso, to Trio No.10 one can clearly hear the influence of the Mannheim school as characterized by Carl Stamitz. The middle movement is a subdued but beautiful Adagio. The charming finale, Allemanda, is a formal German dance and makes use of the echo effect.

Out of print for nearly half a century, these are little gems from an elegant and gracious period which we believe amateur trio groups will greatly enjoy.


Trio No.9 Parts: $19.95        /     Trio No.10-Parts: $19.95


Special Offer: Both Trios: $27.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New