Alexander Glazunov

Soundbite 1st Movt

Reverie Orientale for Clarinet and String Quartet

The Reverie Orientale for Clarinet and String Quartet dates from 1886 and was published soon thereafter by Belaiev. It is in one substantial movement, highly emotive, it recalls the exotic nature of the East as experienced by European Russians---places like Bokhara and Samarkand. The mood is dreamy with a sense of the remote.


Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) was born in St. Petersburg, the son of a wealthy book publisher. He began studying piano at the age of nine and started composing not long after. In  1879, he began studies with Rimsky- Korsakov. Glazunovís progress was so fast that within two years, Korsakov considered Glazunov more of a junior colleague than a student. Between 1895 and 1914, Glazunov was, during his lifetime, widely regarded, both inside and out, as Russiaís greatest living composer. His works include symphonies, ballets, operas and seven string quartets in addition to various instrumental sonatas.


This would make a fine encore or short work for clarinet quintet ensembles and presents no technical difficulties for amateurs. We have reprinted the original edition.


Parts: $12.95 





Contact Us



Place Order

What's New