Alexander Glazunov

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quartet No.2 in F Major, Op.10

"Glazunovís Second String Quartet dates from 1887. The first movement, Allegro non troppo, has several attractive themes. An original sounding and dance-like Scherzo follows. It is dominated by its rhythm. The trio section appears based on a folk tune. The atmospheric and melancholy felt third movement, Adagio, is truly Slavic. The middle section is somewhat brighter in mood. The very effective finale, Allegro moderato, is full of good spirits. The main theme apparently based on a folk dance is first introducted by the viola. This quartet plays quite well."----Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players."


Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) was born in St. Petersburg, the son of a wealthy book publisher. He began studying piano at the age of nine and started composing not long after. In  1879, he began studies with Rimsky- Korsakov. Glazunovís progress was so fast that within two years, Korsakov considered Glazunov more of a junior colleague than a student. Between 1895 and 1914, Glazunov was, during his lifetime, widely regarded, both inside and out, as Russiaís greatest living composer. His works include symphonies, ballets, operas and seven string quartets in addition to various instrumental sonatas.


This quartet will appeal both to amateurs and professionals.


Parts: $24.95 


Parts & Score: $31.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New