Alexander Glazunov

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quartet No.5 in d minor, Op.70

“String Quartet No.5 in d minor, Op.70 appeared in 1900. It opens with a doleful introduction, Andante. The main theme is presented in the form of a fugue and first stated by the viola. The mood and quality of the writing reminds one of Tchaikovsky. The second subject, marked dolce, is initially entrusted to the first violin. The movement is completed by a magnificent stretto which carries all before it. The Scherzo allegretto which follows provides a tremendous contrast to the preceding Allegro. The playful main theme brings to mind the Scherzo of Beethoven’s Op.18 No.4. And, though simple, it is nonetheless handled with great cleverness. Initially presented by the first violin, the development section gives all four voices a chance to participate equally. The trio section, with its rich melodic content, provides a very effective contrast to the scherzo. The third movement is an Adagio. It is contemplative and quiet and Glazunov takes great care to preserve the tranquil and poetic quality of the music from start to finish. The gay main theme to the finale, Allegro, is introduced in the same fashion as in the first movement, in fugal form. Again one suspects that the theme is taken from a folk dance. The music is bright in mood, even playful."----The Chamber Music Journal


Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) was born in St. Petersburg, the son of a wealthy book publisher. He began studying piano at the age of nine and started composing not long after. In  1879, he began studies with Rimsky- Korsakov. Glazunov’s progress was so fast that within two years, Korsakov considered Glazunov more of a junior colleague than a student. Between 1895 and 1914, Glazunov was widely regarded, both inside and out, as Russia’s greatest living composer. His works include symphonies, ballets, operas and seven string quartets in addition to various instrumental sonatas.


This is a major work which belongs in the concert repertoire as well as on the stands of amateurs.


Parts: $24.95 


Parts & Score: $31.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New