Benjamin Godard

Soundbite 1st Movt


Soundbite 2nd Movt


Soundbite 3rd Movt


Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quartet No.3 in A Major, Op.136

Benjamin Godard’s String Quartet No.3 in A Major dates from 1892. The work opens with a cello solo before the others join in to take part in the serene and quite lyrical Allegro con moto. A beautiful and calm Adagio non troppo in which the cello is highlighted follows. The concise third movement, though marked Minuetto molto moderato, nonetheless has the feel of a scherzo. The exciting finale, Allegro con moto, is full of fire and rhythmic tension.


Benjamin Godard (1849-95) was born in Paris. He studied at the Paris Conservatoire composition with Reber and violin with Henri Vieuxtemps. He was somewhat of a prodigy on that instrument, as well as on the viola, and accompanied Vieuxtemps to Germany on concert tours on two occasions. Godard enjoyed chamber music and played in several performing ensembles. This experience stood him good stead when it came to writing effective chamber music compositions. In 1878, Godard was the co-winner with Théodore Dubois, head of the Paris Conservatory, of a musical competition instituted by the city of Paris. He composed music with great facility and from 1878 up to the time until his death Godard composed a surprisingly large number of works, including the opera Jocelyn, from which the famous "Berceuse" has become perhaps his best known work. He also composed several symphonic works, ballets, concertos, overtures and chamber music, including three string quartets and two piano trios.

Out of print for many years, we are pleased to make it available once again and believe it will be of interest to both amateurs and professionals alike.

Parts: $24.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New