Karl Goepfart

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Wind Quartet in d minor, Op.93

for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon

Karl Goepfart (1859-1942) after initial studies with his father became a student of Franz Liszt in Weimar. He enjoyed a career as a concert pianist as well as a conductor both in Europe and the United States.  He wrote operas, symphonies as well as several chamber music works.


The Quartet in d minor, Op.93 dates from 1907. In three movements, it begins with an Allegro risoluto which is quite substantial and actually as long as the following two movements together. It is in two sections which alternate with each other. The first begins in canonic fashion with a brisk, charming melody. The second section is slower and somewhat dreamy. The middle movement is a lively, somewhat nervous Scherzo. The finale, Allegro con vivo bravura, begins with a energetic fugue which over time imperceptibly leads to a slower interlude before a fugue on a related but different subject is begun.


Out of print for more than 50 years, we are pleased to make it available again. It is suitable for both professionals and amateurs alike.


Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New