Hermann Goetz

Soundbite 1st Movement

Soundbite 2nd Movement

Soundbite 3rd Movement

Soundbite 4th Movement

Piano Quartet in E Major, Op.6

"Hermann Goetz's Piano Quartet is one of the masterpieces of the literature and it is sad to see it disappear from the repertoire." So wrote the critic Laurence Vittes.


Hermann Goetz (1840-1876) studied theology and mathematics in Königsberg where he was born. Eventually he switched to music and attended the Stern Conservatory in Berlin where he studied with the founder Julius Stern, as well as Hans von Bülow and Hugo Ulrich. In 1862, he succeeded Theodor Kirchner as organist at the church in Winterthur.


His piano quartet dates from 1867 and is dedicated to Johannes Brahms who was not only friendly with Goetz but also admired his music.


The famous chamber music scholar Wilhelm Altmann describes the Piano Quartet as follows:


" It shows mastery of style throughout. This work has moments of both inspiring energy and profound sadness. The emotional theme of the variations in the slow movement and painfully melancholy introduction to the finale reveal how essentially temperamental  was the composer, while the three-part canon which forms the trio of the magnificent Scherzo third movement reveals his great technical skill."


Either out of print for long periods of time or difficult to obtain, we are pleased to make this fine work available once again.


Parts $34.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New