Carl Goldmark

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Soundbite 5th Movt

Suite for Violin & Piano in D Major, Op.11

 "Goldmark's Op.11 Suite for Violin and Piano is a highly melodious composition, full of piquant harmony and delicate rhythms. Freshness and wealth of invention combined with skilled technical work make it one of his most original compositions and one of the most effective works of its kind. The first movement, Allegro, is opened by the piano with a few bars of strongly marked rhythm; the violin then enters with a strain full of fire and passion, culminating in an effective dramatic climax; the middle section brings a slight relaxation, and thus increases the effect of the succeeding recapitulation. The second movement, Andante sostenuto, expresses a dreamy, twilight mood, and shows the Goldmark as an excellent lyricist. A similar artistic level is also reached in the third movement a Scherzo. The fourth movement, Allegro moderato, is full of melodic charm while the superb finale, Presto, brings to mind a wild, torch lit night time journey over the mountains.--Rudolf Felber writing in Cobbett's Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music.


Carl Goldmark (1830-1915) was born in the town of Keszthely in Austria-Hungary. His early musical training was at the conservatories in Sopron and Odenburg. His father then sent him to Vienna where he briefly studied violin under two of the better known teachers, Leopold Jansa and Joseph Böhm. As a composer, however,  Goldmark was largely self-taught. World-wide fame came to him with the performance of his opera The Queen of Sheba. He wrote in most genres and many of his other compositions, such as his Violin Concerto and the Rustic Wedding Symphony, were quite popular during his lifetime and for several years thereafter. His chamber music was well-thought of and also received concert performances  while he was  live but sadly disappeared from the concert stage after his death.


This is an attractive work which will win friends everywhere. It deserves to be heard in recital and to find a place on the stands of home music makers.


Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New