Paul Graener




Soundbites courtesy

 of Steve Jones

String Quartet No.2 in a minor, Op.54

"Paul Graener's String Quartet No.2 in a minor appeared in 1920 and is in three short movements. The opening movement, Allegro moderato, is in the form of a Siciliano and is quite atmospheric, very free in tempo and construction with its fine sounding elegaic plaint. The second movement is a wild and stormy Vivace with a contrasting trio section. The finale, begins with a deeply felt Adagio which leads to a very impressive Allegro marcato. I highly recommend this work for concert performance and it is not at all beyond the range of good amateur players.---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players.


Paul Graener (1872-1944) served as director of the Theatre Royal Haymarket in London from 1898-1906, taught at the New Vienna Conservatory from 1911-1913, was appointed Director of the Mozarteum in Salzburg in 1914, succeeded Max Reger as Professor of Composition at the Leipzig Conservatory and then served as director of the Stern Conservatory in Berlin from 1934. Graener was a prolific composer and during the 1920s and 30s his works, especially his operas, were frequently performed.


This an important post romantic string quartet, still tonal and impressive. Long out of print, we are pleased to reintroduce it.


Parts: $24.95


Parts & Score: $31.95




Contact Us



Place Order

What's New