Eduard Herrmann

Soundbite Movt 1

Soundbite Movt 2

Soundbite Movt 3

String Trio in g minor, Op.39

Eduard Herrmann (1850-1937) was born in the German town of Oberrottweil. He began studying the violin locally and later in Berlin at the Royal Academy of Music where he was a student of Joseph Joachim. He also studied composition. He enjoyed a career as a concert violinist, and served for several years before emigrating to New York in the 1880ís as concertmaster of the Hamburg Opera Orchestra and of the Imperial Russian Orchestra in St. Petersburg. In New York, he established himself as prominent violin teacher and leader of a string quartet. For many years he served as the lead violin editor for the New York music publisher G. Schirmer. His editions of many of the major violin concertos are still in use. He was also was a highly successful arranger whose arrangements were for many years quite popular.


Hermannís compositions are mostly chamber music and include three string quartets, a string quintet, a sextet for winds and piano and this string trio. The Op. 39 Trio in g minor for violin, viola and cello was completed around 1920. It is in a post-romantic style. The opening Allegro moderato begins with the viola introducing a somewhat dark, yearning melody over the cello cross string accompaniment which gives the music considerable spaciousness. The middle movement, an Adagio, is in the form of a lovely romanza. The finale, Allegretto, begins with an introduction of bright arpeggios before the viola enters with the main theme quickly taken up by the violin.


Long unavailable, we feel that this is a very valuable work from the post-romantic era and recommend it to both professionals and amateurs.


Parts: $19.95





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New