Heinrich von  Herzogenberg

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quartet No.1 in d minor, Op.18

"It appears to me that Herzogenberg's First String Quartet, composed in 1876, is especially worth recommending. The first movement, Allegro moderato, is without question beautiful and stylistically perfect. The two main themes are ingratiating and lovely. The first theme, with its accompaniment figure in the viola is quite original and well done. The development section is superb. The second movement, Andante, reminds one of the corresponding movement of Schumann's Third String Quartet, while the Scherzo, presto which follows, with its lyrical and contrasting trio section, is harmonically interesting and full of humor. The finale, Allegro con fuoco, has a whimsical fugue for its first subject, while the second theme is take from folk music."---Wilhelm Altmann, writing in his Handbook for String Quartet Players

The Austrian composer Heinrich von Herzogenberg (1843-1900) was greatly influenced by Brahms and while one can easily hear this influence what is striking is the amount of original and fresh thoughts there are, notwithstanding the influence of Brahms. His chamber music is unquestionably first rate and some of it made Brahms envious.

As Altmann noted, this is a work of the first order. It truly belongs in the repertoire. Professional groups would do well to present it and amateurs will derive great pleasure putting it into shape. Our edition is based the original and only published edition. We have added rehearsal letters and corrected errors which appeared in the original.


Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New