Heinrich von  Herzogenberg

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

String Quintet in c minor, Op.77

For 2 Violins, 2 Violas & Cello

"Heinrich von Herzogenberg's string quintet dates from 1892 and serves as an especially good example of this composer's excellence. It is a distinguished work, characterized by its breadth of conception and its utilization of the tone color of the instruments employed. The first movement, Allegro appassionato, is a stormy piece of character painting, full of beautiful thematic material. The second movement, Poco adagio, is a theme and set of finely wrought variations based on a folk tune. A ghostly Scherzo follows. One hears whispers and innuendo. The muted trio section lightens the mood. The finale begins with a passionate Adagio ma non troppo introduction and leads to an Allegro tranquillo, the spirited, march-like main theme to which is also a folk melody."---Wilhelm Altmann writing in his Chamber Music Handbook.

The Austrian composer Heinrich von Herzogenberg (1843-1900) has sometimes been attacked as nothing more than a pale imitation of Brahms, of whom he was a great admirer. However, those who take the trouble to listen or play his music will discover that Herzogenberg's music is absolutely first rate, original and fresh, notwithstanding the influence of Brahms. Much of his chamber falls into the masterwork category and Brahms might well have wished he had written some of it. Toward the of his life, Brahms, who was not in the habit of praising other composers publicly, wrote of Herzogenberg, whom he had often harshly criticized, “Herzogenberg is able to do more than any of the others."

Out of for the better part of a century, we are very pleased to reintroduce this fine work and hope that it will be taken up by cellists everywhere.


Parts: $29.95



Parts & Score: $36.95




Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New