Heinrich von  Herzogenberg

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Violin Sonata No.1 in A Major, Op.32

The Austrian composer Heinrich von Herzogenberg (1843-1900) was greatly influenced by Brahms and one often easily hear this influence, what is striking is the amount of original and fresh thoughts there are, notwithstanding the influence of Brahms. His chamber music is unquestionably first rate and some of it made Brahms envious.

Herzogenberg's First Violin Sonata dates from 1882 and was dedicated to the famous violinist and friend of Brahms, Joseph Joachim. It is in three movements. The opening movement, Allegro moderato, begins in a gentle fashion with the violin sounding rather like a bird in spring. The music is sunny and uplifting. The second movement, Adagio, begins in with a dramatic and deliberate introduction. The lovely main theme is yearning and evocative and features some fine use of double stopping. The finale, Allegro vivace, is played attacca with an overlapping trill in the violin, while the piano presents the first part of an energetic theme which when the violin enters is propelled with powerful forward drive.

This is a very appealing work which would make a fine recital work. It is showy but not virtuosic. Long out of print, we are pleased once again to make it available.


Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New