Heinrich von  Herzogenberg

Soundbite 1st Movt

Soundbite 2nd Movt

Soundbite 3rd Movt

Soundbite 4th Movt

Violin Sonata No.2 in E flat Major, Op.54

The Austrian composer Heinrich von Herzogenberg (1843-1900) was greatly influenced by Brahms and one often easily hear this influence, what is striking is the amount of original and fresh thoughts there are, notwithstanding the influence of Brahms. His chamber music is unquestionably first rate and some of it made Brahms envious.

Herzogenberg's masterful Second Violin Sonata dates from 1887. It is in four movements. The opening movement, Allegro ma non troppo, starts off with an elegant and graceful melody. The mood is joyful and warm. The second movement is a very interesting Allegretto. With the violin pizzicato and slightly oriental piano melody, the music is immediately captivating. The second theme is quite lyrical. Next comes an Adagio, the melody of which presents a picture of great calm and noble dignity. The wonderful singing violin part is masterfully handled. The bustling finale, Allegro, begins in canonical fashion in a somewhat baroque fashion. Very gradually the music becomes more representative of the Romantic era with the lyricism of the second theme and appealing use of chromaticism.

This sonata will make a superb choice for a recital. It has all of the elements of a first rate sonata. Long out of print, we are pleased once again to make it available.


Parts: $24.95 





Contact Us Links
Search Place Order What's New